Subscribe to Jammed: Full into Capacity

Subscribe via RSS readers

Subscribe thru email:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Mar
20th

Scam Alert: You won $500! Yahoo!® Mail congratulates you!

Author: Jam | Filed under Google, Internet, Tips


You won $500! Yahoo!® Mail congratulates you!, the subject of an e-mail I have received yesterday said. Attractive subject, isn’t it? Curious about it, I hurriedly open the e-mail, of course with excitement to see the price I have “won”. It’s $500 for God’s sake! Although, I was already suspecting that it was fraud.

The e-mail said that I was one of those “randomly” selected members who won $500. I was one of the 12 top winners accounts who will get cash prizes from them, it says.

Yahoo! Mail Hoax

Because I have been receiving several chain letters with similar intention (of spreading hoax), I’ve already suspected that it was one of those fraudulent e-mails.

Firstly, if it was true, they would have announced it publicly or news reports should have been made about it. Come on, it’s Yahoo! Mail giving $500 to its users.

Secondly, giving $500 to users is not a Yahoo!-ish thing. What would it be for? As promotion of their e-mail service? I don’t think they need more subscribers when they have already millions or probably billions of users worldwide.

Thirdly, if it was true, how lucky could I get that out of those billion subscribers, I was one of the chosen users. I probably believe in luck but not at time when my chance is very nil.

Fourthly, the e-mail was sent to yahoo.winners@yahoo.com. If it was from Yahoo! it should have sent to my real e-mail address.

Lastly, the e-mail was from admin@mail.yahoo.com. Yeah, sure it sounds authentic because it after all came from an “admin” but I’ve been a user of Yahoo! Mail for years and so far, I have not received any message from the Yahoo! admin. And the domain is not so convincing because Yahoo admin should have used yahoo.com instead of a subdomain (mail.yahoo.com).

To strengthen my suspicion that this is a hoax, I searched the web for more stories related to it. Indeed, it was a phishing activity which intend to collect personal and bank information of users. A user has also asked about it in Yahoo! Answers, confirming if it was true. Apparently more than 12 users, contrary to what have stated in the e-mail, in which there were only 12 lucky winners, have received the said e-mail. This phishing attack was also reported by some Gmail users.

For non-suspecting e-mail recipients, the e-mail might appear genuine. You have to evaluate first the e-mail before succumbing to it right away.


Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Related Post

Spread the word

Digg this post

Bookmark to delicious

Stumble the post

Add to your technorati favourite

Subscribes to this post

4 responses. Wanna say something?

  1. jhay
    Mar 20, 2007 at 09:48:41
    #1

    How come I never got that e-mail? Oh yeah, I’m using Gmail! ;)

  2. Alfredo
    Mar 20, 2007 at 19:25:32
    #2

    congrats! balato! :D

  3. iskoo
    Mar 20, 2007 at 22:51:18
    #3

    thyanks for the tip, hirap talaga basta magtiwala sa mga panahon ngayon kailangan i-evaluate mabuti.

  4. Jam
    Mar 21, 2007 at 08:29:02
    #4

    @Jhay: I think there was also a similar e-mail received by some Gmail users.

    @Alfred: Haha. Wish ko lang totoo yun para meron kang balato. :D

    @Iskoo: Yeah, we have to be vigilant always.

Post a Comment

show